top of page

A Breakdown of Kate's Royal Titles

Updated: Jan 14, 2023

Since marrying into the British royal family a decade ago, Kate Middleton - now Catherine, Princess of Wales - has adopted a handful (and, at times, a mouthful) of official royal titles that represent her senior royal duties across the Commonwealth. And the list keeps growing.

Kate Middleton

With Queen Elizabeth II's passing, Kate was given a whole new set of titles, as the monarch's death spurred a major shift in the British line of succession. And just this December, the princess took over a title that once belonged to her husband, Prince William, marking her first appointed role in the British Army.

Here's a complete breakdown of all the official titles the Princess of Wales has had throughout her years in the British royal family.

Princess of Wales: Following the death of Queen Elizabeth, Kate graduated from duchess to princess and was named the new Princess of Wales, alongside William, who is now the Prince of Wales. Kate inherited the title from her late mother-in-law, Princess Diana.

While Kate is colloquially referred to as Princess Catherine or Princess Kate, her correct royal name is actually Catherine, Princess of Wales. Like Princess Diana (who was technically Diana, Princess of Wales), Kate was not born into the British royal family, thus necessitating her first name to be followed, rather than preceded, by her princess title.

In rank, Kate's princess role falls directly below Queen Consort, which she will likely inherit from Camilla Parker Bowles (now Camilla, Queen Consort) when William accedes to the throne.

Duchess of Cambridge: Upon marrying Prince William in 2011, Kate was officially named Her Royal Highness, the Duchess of Cambridge. It was her first and longest-held role. Today, she retains the title of Duchess of Cambridge, despite her ascension to Princess of Wales.

Duchess of Cornwall: Kate additionally inherited a duchess title from Camilla - now Her Royal Highness, the Princess Consort - following Queen Elizabeth's death and King Charles's subsequent accession.

Kate held onto her old and new duchess titles, and was officially known as the Duchess of Cornwall and Cambridge, for a single day on 8 September 8, which marked the brief period between Queen Elizabeth's death and Charles's confirmation as new king of the United Kingdom.

Colonel of the Irish Guards: Kate's most recently bestowed title marks her first honorary appointment in the British Army. She inherited the title in December 2022 from Prince William, who has since been named the new Colonel of the Welsh Guards. The princess is the first woman and second-ever royal behind William to assume the honorary military role.

Duchess of Rothesay and Countess of Chester: Kate's regional princess titles in Scotland are Duchess of Rothesay and Countess of Chester - both of which were inherited from Camilla and are exclusively linked to the heir apparent to the throne. Like in England, Kate can still be regarded as Duchess of Cornwall in Scotland as well. Prior to becoming a princess, Kate was known in Scotland as the Countess of Strathearn.

Countess of Carrick and Baroness of Renfrew: Kate's regional titles in Northern Ireland are Countess of Carrick and Baroness of Renfrew.

Today's Articles


bottom of page